Project Outcomes

Flexible simulation solutions in the cloud for medium-sized enterprises

Modern product development requires extensive simulations. Nowadays, the design of individual components or entire machines is hardly possible without massive calculations. The financial and human costs associated with the provision of the necessary software and the implementation, organization and maintenance of the hardware is, however, a big economic challenge for small and medium-sized enterprises. Therefore, the Cloud4E project provides demand-actuated access to professional simulation solutions in form of services available via the cloud. Thus, engineers of medium-sized enterprises obtain access to engineering simulation solutions, which were economically usable only by large enterprises, so far.

Flexible and cost effective simulation and optimization methods for engineers

For this purpose, Cloud4E offers access to all the resources that are required for performing professional simulations in the engineering field via the cloud. Besides the software, this includes the compute capacity that is needed for the calculation of heterogeneous, highly complex models in competitive time. The advantages for the developing companies are obvious: investments in hardware, software, and personnel can be reduced and regular costs for the installation and maintenance of simulation software are omitted. Additionally, the reliability of the systems significantly increases by the usage of cloud technology without high costs: the resources in the cloud are redundant and highly available – for cost reasons, this is often not the case for in-house solutions. Furthermore, resource bottlenecks during complex analysis or prior to delivery and product releases when many engineers need to run simulations simultaneously are avoided. The cloud makes the use of simulation solutions more flexible and cost efficient.

Individually configurable use of software and compute capacity available via the cloud

In practice, the start of a simulation in the cloud is not more complicated than running the simulation on local resources. The simulation software runs flexibly bookable as software-as-a-service on virtual machines in the cloud, instead running on a local computer. The VMs make use of compute and storage resources of the cloud and can be adapted to the actual requirements. With help of standardized interfaces ( OCCI [Open Cloud Computing Interface] and AMQP [Advanced Message Queuing Protocol]), the software, platform and infrastructure layer can be configured and controlled. The use of open standards allows the engineer to change the cloud provider, if required, without losing previously achieved results. In a first step, Cloud4E provided the cloud access to Modelica and FEM simulations as first model application. With its help it is possible to examine prototypes for weaknesses early in the development or construction phase. However, the providers of simulation software will be able to offer arbitrary solutions via the cloud with help of the project results of Cloud4E.

Uniform security infrastructure along the entire workflow

Security is of special meaning in the project. The simulation results generated during the development of new modules or machines is of great interest for competitors. On the hosts in the cloud, they have to be optimally protected against unauthorized access. Therefore, Cloud4E developed a trusted security infrastructure that can protect every step in the life cycle of a simulation task. Transmission and processing of data is always encrypted. For this purpose, Cloud4E provides configurable and easy to use tools based on proven open source technologies that can be integrated in cloud simulation services according the actual requirements.

Ergebnisse

Flexible Simulationslösungen in der Cloud für mittelständische Unternehmen

Moderne Produktentwicklungen erfordern umfangreiche Simulationen. Kaum ein Ingenieur kommt heute ohne massive Berechnungen bei der Konstruktion einzelner Bauteile oder ganzer Maschinen aus. Der finanzielle und personelle Aufwand für die Beschaffung der notwendigen Software sowie die Implementierung, Organisation und der Unterhalt der Hardware ist für kleine und mittelständische Unternehmen jedoch oft nur noch unter großen Mühen wirtschaftlich zu leisten. Das Projekt Cloud4E ermöglicht deshalb den Zugang zu professionellen Simulationslösungen bedarfsgerecht als Dienst über die Cloud. Damit erhalten Ingenieure in mittelständischen Unternehmen Zugang zu technischen Simulationslösungen, deren Einsatz bisher meist nur in großen Unternehmen wirtschaftlich ist.

Flexible und kostengünstige Simulations- und Optimierungsmethoden für Ingenieure

Dazu bietet Cloud4E über die Cloud Zugang zu allen Ressourcen, die für das Ausführen professioneller Simulationen im Engineering-Bereich notwendig sind. Dies umfasst neben der Software auch die nötige Rechenkapazität, die für die Berechnung heterogener, hochkomplexer Modelle in konkurrenzfähiger Zeit nötig ist. Die Vorteile für die entwickelnden Unternehmen liegen auf der Hand: Investitionen in Hardware, Software und Personal können so reduziert werden, laufende Kosten für die Installation und Pflege der Simulationssoftware entfallen. Auch die Ausfallsicherheit der Systeme wird durch die Cloud ohne hohe Kosten entscheidend erhöht: die Ressourcen in der Cloud sind redundant und hochverfügbar – bei In-House-Lösungen ist dies hingegen aus Kostengründen oft nicht der Fall. Dies verhindert auch Ressourcen-Engpässe bei aufwändigen Analysen oder vor Lieferterminen und Produktfreigaben, wenn viele Ingenieure gleichzeitig Simulationen ausführen müssen. Die Cloud macht die Nutzung von Simulationslösungen also flexibler und kostengünstiger.

Individuell konfigurierbare Nutzung von Software und Rechenkapazitäten über die Cloud

In der Anwendung ist der Start einer Simulation für den Ingenieur nicht komplizierter als bei der Nutzung lokaler Ressourcen. Statt auf einem lokalen Computer läuft die Simulationssoftware als Software-as-a-Service flexibel buchbar auf virtuellen Maschinen (VMs) in der Cloud. Die VMs greifen auf Speicher- und Rechenkapazität der Cloud zurück und können an die jeweiligen Anforderungen angepasst werden. Über standardisierte Schnittstellen ( OCCI [Open Cloud Computing Interface] und AMQP [Advanced Message Queuing Protocol]) werden Software-, Plattform- und Infrastruktur-Ebene konfiguriert und gesteuert. Der Einsatz offener Standards ermöglicht es dem Ingenieur bei Bedarf einen Wechsel des Anbieters vorzunehmen, ohne dabei bisher erzielte Ergebnisse zu verlieren. In einem ersten Schritt wurde in Cloud4E der Cloud-Zugang für Modelica– und FEM-Simulationen als Modellanwendung bereitgestellt, mit deren Hilfe Prototypen hinsichtlich ihrer Schwachstellen überprüft und bereits frühzeitig in der Entwicklungs- bzw. Konstruktionsphase verbessert oder aufgegeben werden können. Die Projektergebnisse erlauben es Anbietern von Simulationssoftware jedoch beliebige Lösungen über die Cloud anzubieten.

Einheitliche Sicherheitsinfrastruktur über den gesamten Workflow

Von zentraler Bedeutung für das Projekt war die Sicherheit. Die bei der Entwicklung neuer Baugruppen oder Maschinen entstehenden Simulationsdaten sind für Konkurrenten von größtem Interesse. Sie müssen auf Rechnern in der Cloud bestens vor dem Zugriff Unbefugter geschützt sein. Cloud4E entwickelte deshalb eine vertrauenswürdige Sicherheitsinfrastruktur, die jeden Schritt im Lebenszyklus einer Simulationsaufgabe schützen kann. Übertragung und Speicherung von Daten erfolgt dabei stets verschlüsselt. Hierzu stellt Cloud4E konfigurierbare und einfach zu nutzende Werkzeuge auf Basis von erprobten Open-Source-Technologien zur Verfügung, die sich entsprechend den jeweiligen Anforderungen in Cloud-Simulationsdienste integrieren lassen.